iUniverse

Someone out there is trying to shame me into submission by insinuating that I published a book through iUniverse. So let me just clear that up right here and now.

I published my book through iUniverse. There. I said it.

Like many authors eager to get published, I went ahead and paid for it. And I got the services I contracted for. No more and no less. I’m not going to say that I was scammed. I knew going in how much it cost. And, all things told, it’s not really that bad.
An indie author can slap a book on Createspace for free and be done with it, and that’s fine. Chances are they’ll get what they paid for.
But if an author wants a book that’s professionally edited, that’s going to cost ’em anywhere from a couple hundred to a couple thousand dollars. And if they want an ISBN number they can use anywhere, that’s going to cost a minimum of $125 for one.
If they want a professional cover, same thing. It’s gonna cost some money.
Sure, iUniverse is little more than a vanity press, but you get what you pay for. Either way, whether an author goes the strictly indie route or contracts with a service like iUniverse, they’re going to have to do their own marketing and promotion.
At the end of the day, it’s a decision an author has to make for him or herself.

Would I use them again? Probably not. I’ve learned a lot since then, and I’ve got other plans in the works.

Am I ashamed that I used them to begin with? Absolutely not. A writing career is a learning curve. That’s one step I took on my journey and it is what it is. No shame in that. I’m just glad that I wasn’t suckered into signing with some scam publishing company that would have lied to my face and ripped me off behind my back, leaving me crushed and disillusioned about the publishing world. THAT would have been a real ripoff. Because that doesn’t just rob you of your money, it robs you of your dignity, and no price can be placed on that.

8 thoughts on “iUniverse

  1. What book is that? Could you give me a link? I’d like to read it but I’d like to get a download version – reason being, the last book I ordered from America cost me $18,- for the book and then they charged me $49,- for shipping to the uk… That’s a bit too much 😉

      • I read a few pages of tabby’s work – that was enough, believe me, it is awful!
        I already finished Thea’s book – and you just can’t compare it.
        I’m looking forward to yours now!

      • I read two of Tabetha’s books, just to be fair. We all have off days.
        I have to say, they were dreadful. The premise wasn’t bad, if you like that sort of thing. But she really can’t write. It’s horrifying to think that she might even try to edit somebody else’s work when she can’t look after her own, and it’s a crime against literature that somebody with such poor skills tries to be a publisher.

        I’ve also read some work by a few of her authors. A few leave room for improvement, but some of her authors are miles better than she is. By not properly editing or representing them, she’s holding them back from what could be very promising futures. If they can work their way out from under the damage her reputation is doing to theirs, that is.

        It really is a pity. I would enjoy a couple of them, if not for her.

      • By the way, I love woman serial killers (in books only, don’t want to meet one)!

    • I read that book a few years ago and it’s Tabetha that should be jealous. If how she writes on blogs is how she writes her books, Lepplady is a far better author. She and her daughter are a very talented family.

      • Thanks very much. Thea’s far more talented than I am.
        I started off with the link in my post, but decided to take it out. I wanted the point to be the comparison between a vanity press and a real ripoff, not to plug my book. Still, three people bought it yesterday and two today. Not bad, considering the barmy thing is over 5 years old. 🙂
        Look for new works this year. 😉

  2. Update:

    As of June, 2016, Tabetha Jones has no publishing companies in operation that we know about, so our investigation of her has been halted. The point of examining her in the first place was to advocate for authors that reported no royalties and other related abuse from her. If she’s not involved with publishing anymore, that job’s done.

    The posts about her remain in public view in case she starts a new one in the future.

    If more publishing concerns about Tabetha Jones (Willis, Farmer Hoover, Saulters, etc) – AKA Zooey Sweete, Emerald Rai Fleurs, et al – arise in the future, we will post relevant updates. But for now, we’re focusing on happier topics.

    Peace.

Leave a Reply

