Law 101

If a company doesn’t legally exist, none of the paperwork from that company legally exists, either. Any contract the company gets you to sign is null and void by the mere fact that the company isn’t legal. You can sign that bad boy a hundred times over and put a thumbprint on it in blood. Doesn’t make it legal. Never will.

So if you signed a contract with that company and decide you want out, walk. There isn’t a single thing the company can do about it. They can bluster, threaten you, try to guilt you or appeal to your morality. But they can’t stop you, and they can’t sue you.

If you have already walked away from that company and they’ve gotten you to sign some “No retaliation” clause saying that you can’t talk about them, that’s bogus too. It’s no more legal than the company or its contracts. Even if you signed it. That’s just another way for the company to TRY to cover their ass by making you think you can’t talk about them. You can rip it up and line the hamster’s cage with it. That’s all it’s worth, legally. You can talk freely about the company and your business with them all you want.

And if you’re still with the company and you’re being threatened with a gag order, same thing. A gag order isn’t something a desperate, scheming company owner can print out and wave at you, either. A gag order has to come from a judge, signed by the court, pursuant to a legal action that’s already underway. So if you’re presented with a gag order by somebody that’s telling you it means that you can’t talk about them, it’s rubbish. It’s just them scrambling like a lunatic trying some last ditch effort to save a ship that’s already sinking. Don’t believe it. They’re just trying to scare you.

Don’t fall for that absurd “No retaliation” clause, and don’t fall for some bogus gag order.

Most of all, don’t be controlled by somebody that’s just using you to try to save their own ass.

9 thoughts on “Law 101

    • Unless a gag order comes from a judge, don’t worry about it. If it comes from the company, it’s like I said up top: if a company isn’t legal, neither is any paperwork that comes from it. Feel free to ignore it.

      • But Tabetha doesn’t have employees, remember? They’re all “freelance” workers. That means they’re in business for themselves. They can do whatever they want. She can’t issue a gag order on somebody ELSE’S business.

      • Tabetha doesn’t have a legally registered company. She claims she uses only freelancers, who don’t have contracts for any of her projects. Her attempts at spin control are pathetic. She doesn’t control you, Gagged, any more than I do.

  1. Ok here you go I can go to legalzoom or rocketlawyer. I can then request any filed of legal documents to be drawn up such a gag order, retaliation clause, even a contract for publisher and author. But they have one for author and publisher.. If you want to do business with her get you your contract because as a self-published author you can. Even using her Rising service. I just found that out the hard way from a lawyer friend.

    She waves these documents in her hand talking so sweet being your friend and then that my friend is when she strikes..you have already been bitten. as her venom courses trough your system slowly killing your dreams and your soul. ambitions washed down the drain as your name is soiled. Then as you are slowly dying, your blood is thickening, she will smile down all while asking you to sign her no retaliation clause and breach of contract paper offering you the life saving anti – venom. So you do and sell your soul yet again to her manipulation as she leaves you crawling to the vial just out of reach…

    Well as I said those contracts anyone can make up and pleasantly of sites to get them from. But they have to be filed and singed by a notarize ‘er which my mother is for them to be legal otherwise anyone can legal type my name and story name they are editing or have reviewed into the space for my name to go.. and also anyone who uses a PEN name that name is not your legal name so unless it is legalized as one for you anything you sign is not legal and you still speak your mind however you like. that is a First Amendment Right as a united states citizen I have a right to use. However I have this to say before you point your finger at me remember then are more pointing back at you… I didn’t lie to my clients, I didn’t promise them things then never deliver. I can only tell the truth of what has been done to me and others I know to be true.. And all has been said before a paper was signed so I can and will help out one who feels trapped get her word out because after this shit deal I have nothing to hide.

    I refused to pay for services a few times when the feeling in my gut said something was up. I am a big enough person to say the Scot and German in me caused the loss of temper. I owe Sonja a big apology… I already made my amends with JT and Mel. I lived n a mirage for so long that when I found this one I loved the family that came with it. Then dehydration slowly crept in as the lie you can taste as the sand slowly trickles from your mouth. No water , no land, no nothing you are alone. Well not no more I have water for you to drink just ask me for it!!

    ~Author Katrina Vore~

    • No apology needed. I’m just glad you’re one less author that’s going to get ripped off by a lying, scamming thief.

      She can get whatever documents printed up that she wants. She can even get them notarized. But unless a gag order comes from a judge -or, you know, a legal company – it’s not worth the paper it’s written on.

      I like your description of her being venomous. And I agree. She might be the single most toxic person I’ve ever seen. I’m just glad there are fewer people that are going to fall victim to that predator’s deadly bite.

      Good for you! You stood up for yourself, and now you’re standing up for others. You’re a strong woman. I’m so glad you freed yourself.

  2. Update:

    As of June, 2016, Tabetha Jones has no publishing companies in operation that we know about, so our investigation of her has been halted. The point of examining her in the first place was to advocate for authors that reported no royalties and other related abuse from her. If she’s not involved with publishing anymore, that job’s done.

    The posts about her remain in public view in case she starts a new one in the future.

    If more publishing concerns about Tabetha Jones (Willis, Farmer Hoover, Saulters, etc) – AKA Zooey Sweete, Emerald Rai Fleurs, et al – arise in the future, we will post relevant updates. But for now, we’re focusing on happier topics.

    Peace.

Leave a Reply

