Guest post

By Sabrina Samples

When I was with Tabetha, I was an eager new writer excited about a publisher taking interest in my work. I was excited about all of the potential things I would be able to do through my writing. But then that all fell to shit.

I then went on to work with Jacqueline who had me believing owning a company would make my writing better. I would be able to get all of my books out there along with filling my need to help the other struggling authors like I used to. But that went to shit also. I spent three years of my life trying to find my place in a writing world that kept wanting to tear me down, make me feel like I was just another author who couldn’t get anywhere in life because no one cares about my writing.

During the course of the three years where I was with either Tabetha or Jacqueline, I struggled a lot with depression and toward the end of my contact with either of them, I tried to kill myself. This is not something I have told many people. I was in the center of so much drama, so many lies, and I just couldn’t handle the fact that not only was I duped once but twice by people who claimed to be my friend and who said they loved my writing.

But that is not what this post is about. This post is about what has happened in my life since I broke all ties with both of these ladies.

Right after I blocked the last of everyone who was attacking me (on behalf of Jacqueline and the lies she told about me) I was at the lowest point of my life. Every day was a struggle to wake up and get out of bed. But I did it. I gave up on writing for a while because I just didn’t have the energy to put words to paper and hear how people loved my writing again while they stabbed me in the back. I was that way for almost two months.

But then one day I woke up and realized I am only hurting myself by keeping my words to myself. So from there I started writing more and I self published for a few months. Then I heard about this really great publisher. Of course I was hesitant at first, but I didn’t want to walk away from everything I have been working to do. So I did weeks of research, talking to current and past authors with them. Once I felt comfortable enough, I submitted and was accepted within a week.

Since I have signed with my current publisher, I now have three books out, two coming out in the next few months and I am currently working on my sixth book.

To make things even better in my life, I recently went to my first signing and I ended up selling all of the books I took with me! I am in a better spot now than I was a year ago. I no longer struggle to wake up every day, I no longer cry myself to sleep at night and I no longer have to worry about who I am going to have to defend myself against today. I am mentally and physically stronger than I have been since the first day I met Tabetha Jones and my life fell into the spiral of chaos.

So please do not take this post as a way of me attacking Tabetha or Jacqueline. This is my way of saying there is a light at the end of the tunnel. You will have something better if you walk away from it all. I am living, breathing proof of that.

7 thoughts on “Guest post

  1. I can’t thank Sabrina enough for sharing her inspiring story.

    I don’t think scam publishers realize how much damage they do to an author’s emotions, to their writing. To their lives. Or maybe they just don’t care.

    My daughter was shattered after Tabetha first fawned and preened over her writing, then – when money was paid – told my daughter that her writing was crap. She blamed my daughter for everything that went wrong, trashed her writing and her character, left her completely traumatized.

    The money was eventually repaid, but there’s no dollar amount that can make up for the emotional damage she caused. There’s no price that can pay for the tears my sweet girl cried. That’s a debt that will never, ever be repaid.

    Like Sabrina, my daughter did eventually overcome the heartbreak and publish, much more successfully than she ever would have with a scam publisher. That’s what I hope for all of the other victims: That they find happiness after the heartbreak. That they’re able to forge ahead and publish their own work, shine bright, and soar.

    Thank you, Sabrina. You are an inspiration.

    • Everyone is eager and willing to share their stories about how they were scammed. What lies were told while they were with the two companies. But that part isn’t what I needed to tell. I wanted people to see the lingering effects of years of the drama. But I also wanted to show people that once you get away from it all the scars will heal and you will be better than before. While the situation may have been horrible while you were in the middle of it. Once you are out of it you will be a better person. You will approach things differently and honestly it’s for he better. Most authors signed with the companies when they were new and didn’t know much about the writing world. But coming out of this you know more and you want to learn things for yourself so you will never deal with this same issue again. I have been with my publisher for two months now and I am very involved with the publication and promotion of my books and that is not because I have to be involved but because I wouldn’t have it any other way. So for that I have to say thank you to both Tabetha and Jacqueline. Without seeing the bad side of things I would never have learned the good side of them now.

      • While it’s true that everything we go through adds up to make us who we are, you have only YOURSELF to thank for everything you’ve accomplished. You’re the one that overcame the horrible ways they treated you, and YOU did the hard work to get yourself published. Those two are to thank for nothing.

        That’s all you, baby.

      • I’m glad you got back on your feet, Sabrina. It took me a while to start writing again after I left Tab. I’m working with a wonderful publisher also, and just finished my first novel. The rewrite of the novelette I let Tab publish. My scars may still show up from time to time, but they give me strength to move on and better myself as an author.

  2. Thank you CFW and Rabecca for the kind and supportive words. I hate seeing people going through the same things I went through. I wish you both the best of luck in your endeavors in the postscam life.

  3. Update:

    As of June, 2016, Tabetha Jones has no publishing companies in operation that we know about, so our investigation of her has been halted. The point of examining her in the first place was to advocate for authors that reported no royalties and other related abuse from her. If she’s not involved with publishing anymore, that job’s done.

    The posts about her remain in public view in case she starts a new one in the future.

    If more publishing concerns about Tabetha Jones (Willis, Farmer Hoover, Saulters, etc) – AKA Zooey Sweete, Emerald Rai Fleurs, et al – arise in the future, we will post relevant updates. But for now, we’re focusing on happier topics.

    Peace.

Leave a Reply

