Baby A

I’d like to take a moment to remember a precious life, born 52 years ago today, and lost far too soon.

10 days after the shocking news of the JFK assassination, Betty and Ralph welcomed two daughters into the world. Maria Christine came first, and then, six minutes later, I followed. 3 months premature and weighing just 3 pounds each, neither of us were expected to live through the night.
But we did.

My twin sister, Maria, lost her battle quietly six months later. Raging on and fighting for every breath, I endured.

I’ve gotten a lot of happy birthday wishes today, and I’m grateful for that. But it’s not my day alone. Maria, half of my heart and soul forever, will never be forgotten.
babyA

4 thoughts on “Baby A

  1. Much love JT
    Not many would take time to not only share that but think enough to pay tribute in this fashion. Shows a lot about you, your spirit and fierce determination to live. Happy born day to the the angel lost and the dragon who survived.

    • You show so much love. JT you are one of a kind. Happy birthday to your sister in heaven. May you have many blessings.

  2. Happy birthday mate! I’m sorry about your twin I never knew that but if her name was Maria what’s the deal with the A? Did you make that bracelette for your sister?

    • Thanks 🙂

      No. I didn’t make that. It’s the original baby bracelet from when we were born. Way back in the stone ages, they gave multiple births baby bracelets titled A, B, C, etc, so that they (we) didn’t get mixed up. I was baby B.

Leave a Reply

