Resolutions

It’s that time, again. The s tart of a new year, when people shake off the dust and smoke of the last year and make promises for the new one. Yes, my friends, it’s the time for resolutions.
resolution
Lots of people make vague promises for the coming 12 months, things like “I want to lose weight” or “I’ll be a better person.”

Me, I like specifics. Sure, I want to be a better person and maintain my fitness level, but those generalities are a given. When it comes to what I want to accomplish this year, I’ve got some very specific goals.

First, I’m finishing the comic I’m working on. Those things aren’t as easy to write, pencil and ink as one might think. From conception to page layout, drawing and inking the pictures, and coming up with dialogue and everything else, it can be a daunting task. A time-consuming one. These things take time. But I’m rocking it. I spent yesterday designing a motorcycle that looks like a lizard monster hugging a killer engine block, with its tail wrapped around the rocket-powered exhaust pipe. It was a lot of fun, and it fits in with the story really well.

This is just the first comic in a series up eight, which will all be bound together in a graphic novel at the end of the run, with original artwork in between the chapters. It’s an ambitious project, and I’m excited to see it all the way through.

Another resolution I’m making is to paint more. I don’t get into the studio to paint nearly as much as I should  I stalled on the Kid n Cat take on a dragon’ painting and just sort of walked away from it. “Paint a dragon,” I said. “It’ll be fun,” I said. Well, it was harder than I thought it would be, and I let it stall me.

Right behind the dragon painting, I’ve got Kid and cat in Paris, and a whole world full of other adventures they can go on. Landscapes, city-scapes, realism, fantasy, the possibilities are limited only by my imagination. I need to spend more time doing that.

I also need to spend more time writing. I’ve let the comic dominate my workday, and I need to change that. I often tell other people that writing is a real job, and to treat it as such. I need to take my own advice. If art and writing are both going to happen, they both need to have time allotted for nothing else. Maybe art in the morning and writing in the afternoon. With French lessons during lunch, perhaps.

I’ve got a specific timetable for these projects, from art to books and publishing endeavors, but I won’t bore you with the details.

One thing I’m not going to do is allow distractions to take time away from work. It’s a matter of setting priorities. If it doesn’t improve the world in some way, it’s not getting my attention. Good riddance to bad rubbish.

So what are yours? What is it that you want to get done this year? What do you want to improve or complete? What do you want to let go of?

5 thoughts on “Resolutions

  1. I am going to start making my quilts again. Maybe get my book out (lol) spending time with family and friends. Some small trips through my great state.

  2. Besides the obvious, first getting my PC tip top, I am going full throttle in getting my books published. My relaxation is going to be more beach and poolside time. Along with one of my favorite passions, making dreamcatchers.

Leave a Reply

