Post Gastric Bypass Keto

Today marks day 1 of my Keto diet. I’ve been frustrated recently with my lack of success losing weight the normal way for a post gastric bypass patient. 6 years post, but that change in my guts will always be there. And, usually, the pouch does its job and when I need to lose a little weight, it’s no sweat. I just work the pouch. Eat small portions of food I know I can have and drink a lot of water.

Lately, though, it’s been a steady march up the number on the scale no matter how much or how little I eat, no matter what it was. So I decided to give this Keto thing a try. I did all the reading, did my research and found out everything that’s involved. I went out and got some almond flour for keto bread and pancakes. I already had pretty much everything else. I just wasn’t using it right. Plus, if I’m honest, I’m far too fond of bread and crackers.

So, knowing that I was starting Keto today, I snacked on the last of my crackers last night and set them aside. I’ll miss ’em. But I won’t miss fitting into my medium-fat clothes again. That cracker doesn’t taste as good as size 8 will feel when I get back down to it.

I woke up this morning and made a scrambled egg with my first experimental 90-second Keto bread. And I’ve got to say it, the food was downright tasty.

My only problem is that there was too much of it. I may not have been as careful as I should about what I put into it, but I’ve always been careful not to stretch out my pouch. So, I didn’t even finish half of my breakfast.

That’s going to be a thing. Keto menus are very generous, intended for people with normal stomachs, or even stomachs that have been stretch out from abusing food. I don’t have a normal stomach. I’m going to have to adjust my recipes accordingly. The 990-second Keto bread is way too much for me to eat a full serving. IF I have bread with a meal, it’s going to have to be one slice instead of two. Where it says for the normal person to have a cup of tuna, for example, I’ll have to settle for half. If it says for me to eat half an avocado, I’ll probably have a quarter. That kind of thing.

I knew when I got the gastric bypass done that I was going to have to adjust food to fit my new body type, and Keto is going to be the same. It’s going to be work, learning as I go, and adjusting my dietary intake accordingly.

I’ve only put on a percentage of the weight I lost. I’m nowhere NEAR the weight where I started. But I’ve put on enough that I’m in clothes 2 sizes bigger. My medium clothes are starting to get tight. I refuse to let that turn a large or XL again. I’ve worked too damned hard to go back that far. I’m nipping it in the bud, right now. I want to get back into a LOOSE medium. Maybe a small. I don’t need to be twiggy. I don’t need to be a size 2 extra-small. That’s too bony for my. I want to get back down to just right. And I will. Watch.

Both of my sisters had the gastric bypass surgery before I did, and I made the mistake of thinking that they cheated to lose weight, somehow. Like it was so easy because they lost so much weight so fast.

I was mistaken.

Having a gastric bypass isn’t a cheat. It isn’t easy. It hurts, and I will forever have to accommodate the physical changes they made to my innards. Keto is no exception. It’s not easy. It’s yet another change in how I prepare my food and eat it. But I’m up for it.

I just hope it works. I’ll keep you posted.

Peace, Love, and fluffy kittens, y’all.
Image result for kitten eating

3 thoughts on “Post Gastric Bypass Keto

  1. Because your fat I told you you didn’t look skinny anymore. I’m skinnier then you now and I did it the hard way not cheating like you.

Leave a comment